Fine Arts Brass
Concerts Tours
Contact FAB Why not
drop us
a line

Old FAB logo Fine Arts Brass Ensemble
was formed in 1980 by
five boys in short trousers.
We're still at it all these years later.
Listen! Come and hear us
in action via our
recordings and broadcasts
All the latest
about Fab
(that's fit
to print!)
Five FAB faces

Fine Arts Brass is Simon Lenton & Angela Whelan (trumpets),
Chris Parkes (horn), Katy Jones (trombone) & Les Neish (tuba)

Since 1980 we have
premiered over 60
works by leading composers.
Find out what this photo
and Tim Souster's piece
are all about.
Tim Souster
FAB on a bus

Pictures for publicity purposes and for your bedroom wall...

Can't get
enough of us?
View and buy!
A review web site Some people say
the nicest things!
We're closed for new posts
at the moment, but you can
Read existing comments here
Have your say
FAB go to school

Not happy just to blow our own trumpets, we'll help you blow yours!

FAB are a widely travelled
group. We've been to over
60 countries to date.
Come and see
where we've been...
UK passport
Gallery Talk
History Reviews
FAB logo
Listen News People Premières Publicity Records
"''It was an occasion we will never forget'' Fine Arts Brass: Cheltenham Contemporary Concerts Series, St Andrew's Church, Cheltenham. For the final concert in this series, Fine Arts Brass began with a lively interpretation of the 'Haka' - Igniting Breath by Philip Wilby. Although not as intimidating as the All Black's demonstration, it was a joyful introduction to an evening of first-class brass playing. Two world premieres showed the virtuosic powers of the five instrumentalists. 'The Mechanical Operation of The Spirit' by Woolrich, was unsettling as it rapidly changed genres, whereas Mark Edgley Smith's 'Fanfares For Forgotten Occasions' allowed the audience to fit the four movements to their imagined ''occasion''. That splendid non-prescriptive idea made up for the overlong 'Auriga: The Five Stars' by McGuire which began with interesting concepts. The piece seemed to follow the ''music of the spheres'' with overlapping parts, but became over-indulgent. Two tightly-constructed compositions McCabe's 'Hawk in Winter Light' and Boyle's 'Elegy For The Black Bitch' suitably painted scenes, but it was Malcolm Arnold's 'First Little Suite for Brass', Joubert's 'Brass Chamber Music' Op. 104 and Torke's 'August' which enriched this concert. This last composition showed brass playing at its most agile, with double and triple tonguing, plenty of dynamic contrast, energy and drive. Anne Dunn (Gloucestershire Echo March 2007.)" - Gloucestershire Echo

Site last updated on 22 January 2020

Concerts   |    Contact   |    Gallery   |    History   |    Listen   |    News   |    People   |    Premières
Publicity   |    Records   |    Reviews   |    Talk   |    Tooters   |    Tours   |    Promoters

All material © Fine Arts Brass
Site designed & developed by Chris Sansom